top of page
  • Jaden Lee

Happen to know some programming and want help with your math homework? IMath has got you covered

I was in first grade when I first developed my passion for math. I had just learned about fractions, and it had actually seemed useful. For example, I could now calculate how much of the cake would need to be split between each person. Fast forward a few years later, and I learned about matrices. At first, I had not understood the usefulness of using matrices, but later I found out that solving diophantine, or polynomial, equations was now much easier. Contributing these two moments to have single-handedly developed my passion for math would be an overstatement. I started liking math because it was one subject in school that had a real-life application. My interest in math turned into an interest in science, as science was a bridge between math and applications of it.

Now, how have I gotten into programming? Simple. Having a mother who has always wanted me to try new things, she signed me up for a programming class in Python when I was in 7th grade. Unlike most of the other things that she has signed me up for, programming was actually enjoyable. With learning how to program, I could now make my math homework easier, this was the beginning of my IMath program. When I was in 7th grade, my algebra teacher gave a worksheet containing linear diophantine equations: equations with two or more linear variables. Having learned that finding the reduced row echelon form of a matrix allows for the calculations of each variable, I programmed a method to find the reduced row echelon form of any matrix and used it to aid me in my homework.


Only about two months ago, I had an exam for my math course with problems with physical applications, such as finding the buoyant force an object feels. I had practiced all the textbook problems regarding physical applications, however, I was still unconfident in my consistency. Experienced with Java programming for over three years, I felt fairly confident in my ability to make a program that generates practice problems, and I was successful in making IMath. Nonetheless, the process of programming every different type of problem was tedious, so I decided to program fundamental operations of math into a Java package.


Starting from topics of Algebra and to Calculus, this Java Package will enlighten your experience of Java. The Algebra module is able to solve diophantine equations, equations with more than two variables, turn any decimals into the simplest fractions and find the LCM and GCM. Its geometry module can compute the answers for the Law of Sine, the Law of Cosines, and calculate the exact area of geometric shapes. Lastly, the Calculus module can find derivatives, antiderivatives, limits, and find the answer of the infinite sum.


When I first started working on this Java package, I had one goal in mind, making a program that generates new practice problems for you. Now, how might this be able to make your math homework easier? Using this Java package, you are able to write simple programs to check your homework answers or to generate new practice problems including the answers. Solve your problem once and program the steps.


Still not a believer? Check out a program I made to prepare for my math test. bit.ly/IMathEx

What are you waiting for? Head on over to bit.ly/IMathWebsite to get started!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page